Chronic Fatigue

In England, Fibromyalgia is called M.E., or Myalgic Encephalopathy. What we call Chronic Fatigue Syndrome is considered to be a manifestation of Fibromyalgia Syndrome, except that in certain cases, fatigue is the most prominent symptom instead of pain.

Dr. John Lowe agrees with this idea. British researchers have newly classified fibromyalgia into 7 sets of symptoms, which are simple gradations from fatigue to pain as the major symptom. These gradations are genetically influenced. They are as follows:

• High anxiety and depression levels, along with poor sleep and high pain levels.
• Significant post-exercise fatigue and joint and muscle pains.
• Mild symptoms–the mildest form of the disease.
• Moderate levels of body pain and sleep problems. (More common.)
• Stomach complaints and the most marked muscle weakness.
• Specifically connected to fatigue. (More common.)
• Seven had the most severe symptoms including pain, swollen glands and headaches.

Copyright © 2017 Fibro Self-Help. All Rights Reserved.
This website is not owned by or affiliated with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (sometimes called the Mormon or LDS Church). The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. The views expressed by individual users are the responsibility of those users and do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. For the official Church websites, please visit or